The prices listed below are state average prices paid by scrap yards in Oregon OR, United States.

All Scrap Metal Prices Updated as of

TOP Yards in Oregon

Our pledge to sound environmental practices is nothing new; Burcham’s Metals has been committed to resource stewardship since our very beginning.
Whether your buying or selling scrap metal, we want to be your main resource for those needs.
Cherry City Metals accepts all sorts of metals as scrap for recycling. Even more we accept appliances, automobiles, and more.

Scrap Copper & Brass prices per pound

MetalPrice Per Pound
Bare Bright Wire$2.18
Copper Tubing / Flashing$2.46
Copper Tubing / Bus Bar$1.88
Roofing Copper$1.56
Brass (Plumbing, Pipe)$1.27
Brass Shells$1.17
Brass Water Meter$0.58-$1.22
Dirty Brass Faucets$0.41
Clean Brass Radiators$1.25
Aluminum/Copper Coil (Clean)$0.87
Aluminum/Copper Coil (Dirty)$0.63
Copper Yokes$0.26
Copper Transformers$0.08-$0.19
Electric Motors$0.12-$0.39
Sealed Units/Compressors$0.18

Scrap Ins. Copper Wire prices per pound

MetalPrice Per Pound
Insulated Copper Wire (Cat 5/6)$0.53
Romex® Wire$1.14
Open Eye Hollow Heliax$0.76
THHN Cable$1.31
Insulated Cable$1.14
500-750 MCM (Bare Bright Inside)$1.51
Insulated Steel BX$0.13
Aluminum BX$0.62
Christmas Lights$0.07
Computer Wire$0.26
Cat 5/6 Cross$0.35

Scrap Aluminum prices per pound

MetalPrice Per Pound
Aluminum Siding / Gutters$0.37
Sheet Aluminum$0.23
All Aluminum Rims$0.32-$0.41
Aluminum Windows (broken)$0.25
Cast Aluminum$0.19
Clean Aluminum Wire$0.41
AL Thermo-pane/break (Not Glass)$0.27
AL Litho Plates$0.35
AL Machine Cuts$0.31-$0.54
Aluminum Grills$0.24
AL Turnings$0.11-$0.16
Aluminum Transformers$0.05
Dirty Aluminum$0.05-$0.15

Scrap Misc. Scrap prices per pound

MetalPrice Per Pound
304 Stainless Steel (Non-Magnetic)$0.26
316 Stainless Steel (Non-Magnetic)$0.32
Lead Wheel Weights$0.13
Scrap Generators$0.04-$0.14

Scrap Batteries prices per pound

MetalPrice Per Pound
Car Batteries$0.17-$0.27
Lead Backup Batteries$0.11-$0.21
Forklift Batteries$0.15-$0.23
Steel Case Batteries$0.12-$0.18
Cell Site Lead Batteries$0.14-$0.17
Lithium Ion Batteries$1.30-$2.12

Scrap Catalytic Converters prices per each

MetalPrice Per each
Small Foreign Cat$70-$82
Medium Foreign Cat$92-$117
Large Foreign Cat$104-$237
Foreign Pre-Cat$22-$44
Domestic Cat$42-$57
Pre-Domestic Cat$18-$23
Small GM Cat$70-$95
Large GM Cat$79-$123
Regular Breadloaf Cat$72-$95
Small Chrysler Cat$43-$66
Large Chrysler Cat$74-$95
Ford Cat$61-$77
Ford Pre-Cat$22-$25
Bead Cat$14-$27
Diesel Cat$3.15-$31
Small Wire$12-$18
Large Wire Cat$31-$66
Wire Pre-Cat$6-$13
Aftermarket Cat$7
DPF Catalytic Converter$25-$426
AC Cats$55-$67

Scrap Steel & Iron prices per pound

MetalPrice Per Pound
Stainless Steel$0.23
Light Iron$0.03
Cast Iron$0.03-$0.06
Brake Rotors$0.067

Scrap Computer Scrap prices per pound

MetalPrice Per Pound
Clean Green Motherboards$1.11
Non-Green Motherboards$0.52
Memory Chips$4.50-$6.54
CPU Processor Chips$3.00-$24
Whole Computer Towers w/HD$0.12
Power Supplies (w/ wires)$0.08
Harddrives w/Board$0.36
Harddrive PC Board$2.21
Telecom Equipment$0.12-$0.23
Low Grade Non PC Boards$0.08
Insulated Wire$0.20-$0.52
Computer Wire$0.24
AL Heat Sinks$0.21

Scrap Rare Earth Metals prices per pound

MetalPrice Per Pound
Carbide Inserts/Shapes$5.22-$6.15
FSX 414$5.13
High Speed Steel$11-$28
Hastelloy Shavings$1.36-$2.45
Hastelloy Solids$1.42-$2.17
Tin Solder$1.23-$3.78
Alnico Magnets$1.32-$2.78

Oregon Scrap Metal Laws

Payment Restrictions

Oregon has special payment restrictions, see the legal mandates below.


Oregon does not require fingerprints.

Video Recording

Oregon requires facilities to record video using security cameras.

Tag and Hold

Oregon requires yards to tag-and-hold certain materials for a period of time to give law enforcement time to locate possibly stolen material matching that description.

License Scanning

Oregon requires each customers drivers license, ID card, consulate ID or passport to be scanned and kept on file.

Vehicle Descriptions

Oregon requires every purchase of scrap metal to also have the customer or drivers vehicle information recorded as part of the transaction.

Taking Photographs of Materials

Oregon requires that each material/purchase have a snapshot image to be taken while the material is being weighed.

Taking Photographs of Customers Faces

Oregon requires a photograph to be taken of the customers face at the time of payout.

Notify Law Enforcement

Oregon does not require law enforcement notification.

NMVTIS Reporting

ALL STATES, not just Oregon are required to report vehicle purchases to NMVTIS through services like

Legal Mandates

Updated January 2014

***Effective May 16, 2013

State Requirements

In order to sell scrap metal, sellers will be required to:

         ·            Present a driver’s license or state ID card;

         ·            Sign a statement indicating that they are the owner of or are authorized to sell the metal;

         ·            Sign a statement that they have not been convicted of metal theft.  The form must include the statement “I, the undersigned, affirm under penalty of law that the property that is subject to this transaction is not to the best of my knowledge stolen property.”) This statement must be signed by seller, include date and time of transaction and include a witness signature by the buyer.

         ·            Although not required, retaining the seller’s thumbprint at the point of sale is encouraged by the State of Oregon.

Buyer’s must:

  • Record make, model and license plate number (with issuing state) of sellers vehicle used to transport scrap
  • Keep a photograph or video tape showing the transaction and the face of the seller (to be kept on file for a minimum of 30 days)
  • Keep a record of sellers name, address, phone number and date of sale
  • All sales tickets must have date and time of the sale, as well as the name of the clerk completing the sale.
    • Must also show the weight, quantity and/or volume of the material.
    • Sales tickets must show dollar amount paid to seller.
    • Sales tickets must be signed by the seller.  Seller will receive a copy of the receipt and buyer will retain a copy.

         ·            Buyer must report purchased vehicle information to NMVTIS

         ·            Tag and hold policies are in effect for a minimum of 10 days.

NOTE:  Any purchases must be paid for with a non-transferrable check which will be mailed to the seller’s home after a holding period of 3 days.  (P.O. Boxes can only be used if it is listed on the seller’s driver’s license.)

***All payments must be made by check payable to the seller and mailed to their home or PO box address within 10 days.  If check is returned as undeliverable, or it is past 10 days, the seller can pick the check up. 

It is unlawful to purchase or receive metal property from a person under the age of 16 years.

It is unlawful to knowingly purchase metal property from a person who has been convicted of any crimes relating to drugs, theft, robbery, burglary and/or possession of stolen property in the past 5 years.

Businesses are required to report to law enforcement any sprinkler heads and/or copper pipes that are brought in within 24 hours; unless the seller is a commercial account that deals in these items.

No scrap metal business may enter into a transaction to purchase or receive metallic wire that was burned in whole or in part to remove insulation unless the seller can produce written proof to the scrap metal business that the wire was lawfully burned or lawfully recovered from a burned structure.

No scrap metal business may purchase or receive beer kegs from anyone except a distributor or manufacturer of beer kegs or licensed brewery.

Keep records, certifications, registrations, etc. on site for 1 year.  Video tapes need to be kept for a minimum of 30 days. 

Scrap recyclers must maintain a record of all purchases for a minimum of one year and is subject to inspection by any law enforcement at any time. There is a 10-day tag-and-hold policy when notified by law enforcement to do so.

Links to Other Important Information for Oregon Salvage/Recycling

Auto-Parts Salvage/Recycling

·         Tires – Oregon’s waste tire program is designed to prevent problematic storage and disposal of tires by regulating how used tires are collected and stored. The program is also designed to encourage alternatives to disposal. Oregon law establishes a permitting system for waste tire carriers/transporters and storage sites, and also imposes a landfill ban on the disposal of whole tires. To learn more about waste tires in Oregon, visit Oregon’s Waste Tire Management Web site

·         Information on obtaining a Metal transportation certificate can be found at

·         Regulatory laws can be viewed at


o    ***